Due to the increase in COVID cases in the past two weeks, the Costa Rican Government has made the decision to bring some restrictions back for the Central Region. These restrictions will not apply to the other areas, only the Central Region at the moment. All of these will be applicable starting Monday May 3rd, 2021.

Following is the list of the new restrictions for the CENTRAL REGION:

  • VEHICULAR RESTRICTION From Monday May 3rd to May 31st: The vehicular restriction by license plates will be applied starting May 3rd for the entire month of May for the whole week, according to the following schedule (stating the plates that CANNOT circulate):
    • Monday: 1, 2
    • Tuesday: 3, 4
    • Wednesday: 5, 6
    • Thursday: 7, 8
    • Friday: 9, 0
    • Saturday: 1, 3, 5, 7, 9
    • Sunday: 2, 4, 6, 8, 0

The nighttime driving ban remains the same: from 9:00p.m. to 5:00a.m.

  • BUSINESS CLOSURE FROM MAY 3RD TO MAY 9TH: From May 3rd to May 9th, commercial businesses that are open to the public and are not classified as essential will be closing.
  • Exceptions to the closure include public institutions, educational centers, supermarkets, pharmacies, medical centers, grocery stores, bakeries, home delivery, banks, funeral homes, veterinary clinics, hotels, and farmer´s markets (in most cases a limited capacity is imposed).
  • Productive activities and industries can keep operating as normal.
  • Public transport may keep functioning, maintaining the ban of standing passengers.

Here the complete list of Cantons included in the Central Region:

  • San José: San José, Escazú, Desamparados, Aserrí, Mora, Goicoechea, Santa Ana, Alajuelita, Vásquez de Coronado, Tibás, Moravia, Montes de Oca, Curridabat, Puriscal, Tarrazú, Acosta, Turrubares, Dota and León Cortés.
  • Alajuela: Alajuela, Poás, Atenas, Grecia, Sarchí, Palmares, Naranjo, San Ramón and Alfaro Ruíz.
  • Cartago: Cartago, Paraíso, La Unión, Alvarado, Oreamuno, Jiménez, Turrialba and El Guarco.
  • Heredia: Heredia, Barva, Santo Domingo, Santa Bárbara, San Rafael, San Isidro, Belén, Flores and San Pablo.

OUTSIDE THE CENTRAL REGION, from May 3rd to May 31st the following measures will be kept in place:

  • Nighttime driving ban from 9 p.m. to 5 a. m.
  • Commercial business with a sanitary health permit must close at 9 p.m.
  • Weekend plate restriction, prohibiting circulation on Saturdays to cars with plates ending in odd numbers (1-3-5-7-9) and on Sundays to those with plates ending in even numbers (0-2-4-6-8).

For any further information, please feel free to reach out to us:  Stay safe!

Please remember to sign up to our newsletter through the form below.

Last News

Keep in touch!

Sign up to receive our newsletter, and keep up to date with the latest changes

We don’t spam! Read our privacy policy for more info.